Magna Carta Suite

by Peter Sinclair on August 21, 2015

Alex Hutton is a British composer/player with a different take on piano-trio jazz. The Magna Carta Suite, inspired by a walk through the Windsor woodlands, features classically pure double bassist Yuri Goloubev and exciting drummer Asaf Sirkis, plus occasional vocals, baroque flute and cor anglais. Flute whispers and Goloubev’s beautiful bowed sound weave through the gently ringing Old Yew; The Barons resembles an Avishai Cohen anthem; The Fog of War moves from a Scriabin-inspired tiptoe to a punchy vamp; and musician/poet Neil Sparkes recaps the whole storyline in two dramatic spoken passages at the close.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: